For those of you playing along at home, here’s the text of the presidential oath of office, From Article II, Section I of the U.S. Constitution.

“I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.”

And here is John Roberts doing his best Porky Pig impersonation on live TV in front of a worldwide audience of hundreds of millions. 

Now, maybe I’m being a little hard on the guy. After all, he had to memorize a whole 35 words, 38 if you count the name of the new President. And in order, no less. The really terrible thing – Roberts, 53, will almost certainly get another chance to get it right while inaugurating future presidents for decades to come. 

But hey, a couple of stepped on lines notwithstanding, Obama is in! And I don’t know about you, but I could watch that guy get inaugurated all day long. And he followed with an incredible speech, even mentioning the place at the table  that science and technology concerns will have in the new administration. In fact, from Steven Chu to less sexy appointments like John Holdren, the Obama administration promises to be replete with big brains concerned with good science. So raise your hand if you’re excited by this news! Not so fast, NASA.

